Congratulations and thank you

Congratulations to Lincolnshire Independent Robert Oates in Sleaford and North Hykeham and Charmaine Morgan in Grantham and Bourne. Both did really well, despite having no TV coverage nor even hustings in Sleaford. Robert achieved over 3,000 votes, beating two national parties, Green and Lib Dem and keeping his deposit. Charmaine Morgan had covid and had to share the Independent Vote with another Independent, but still gained a significant 1,245 votes, laying the foundation for the next elections in May.

Both seats keep their Conservative incumbents albeit with a much reduced support. They each got just over a third of the vote on a 63-64% turnout.

Full results are here.  and for Greater Lincolnshire here.

A huge thank you to everyone in the community for their important support. Thanks to the entire team at Lincolnshire Independents for their unwavering dedication and hard work throughout these campaigns. I am incredibly proud to be part of this amazing team.


Thanks to our candidates for standing in this election. It is a brave action, standing up for what you believe in. Together we learned a lot, enjoyed connecting with people, winning trust and learning about local priorities. We laid an important foundation, a bedrock of support for future elections. We influenced public debate, speaking up for our communities, and encouraged others to do likewise, including those who were elected, thus further supporting our communities.  And we’ll be back, we’ll all be back!

Our National Local Government Association Independent Group

“Nationally on the Local Government Association, it’s amazing news that our Independent Group now has a big opportunity to work with our eighteen MP’s to influence the committee work and the voices that make up Parliament on issues affected by Local Government, currently outlined in our LGA White Paper.

It has been a hard fought campaign with a total of 4,515 candidates nominated, more than in any previous general election. There were 520 Independent candidates standing, some working together, such as the Independent Network. The Greens stood 574 candidates and Plaid Cymru stood 32 candidates.

Thank you, each and every one of you for standing for what you believe in and laying an important foundation for the next elections in May 2025, which will be very significant for our group.  Having stood for Parliament previously, I know how tough it can be, but democracy is too important to leave to the big old parties.  Our candidates and helpers have brought a fresh approach, an important voice, focussed on what their residents really care about. Thank you.

Elected MP’s for our Independent Group are here;

What a fantastic set of results for Greens and Independents!

The Greens won four parliamentary seats which include Carla Denyer as the new MP for Bristol Central and Co-leader Adrian Ramsay overturning a 22,000 Conservative majority to win Waveney Valley. In addition, Sian Berry takes over from Caroline Lucas in Brighton Pavilion and in North Herefordshire Ellie Chowns defeated the Conservatives who had previously held the seat with a 25,000 majority. What an achievement!

Equally impressive, were the gains made by Independents! I warmly welcome six Independent MP’s, Shockat Adam (Leicester South), Alex Easton (North Down), Ayoub Khan (Birmingham Perry Barr), Jeremy Corbyn (Islington North), Adnan Hussain (Blackburn) and Iqbal Mohamed (Dewsbury and Batley). They campaigned on the war in Gaza, but also regeneration, cost of living, a failing NHS and tackling crime.  I look forward to meeting our new Independent Members of Parliament and wish them the best of luck in representing an Independent voice in the new parliament.

In Wales, Plaid Cymru gained a seat and returned four Members of Parliament, whom I met and heard speak at their recent conference. Anglesey Council Leader, Llinos Medi, dramatically won Ynys Mon, the excellent Ben Lake (Ceredigion Preseli) and Liz Saville Roberts (Dwyfor Meirionnydd) were returned and Carmarthenshire Cllr Ann Davies (Caerfyrddin), overseeing rural affairs and planning policy won the fourth seat. Party Leader Rhum ap Llorwerth, didn’t stand and gave strong support. As you know, the LGA Independent Group also represents Plaid Cymru and Independents in Wales and having four Plaid Cymru members of parliament will maintain and strengthen our good links with Wales!

Reform UK is also included in the LGA Independent Group and they also won four seats which include: Lee Anderson (Ashfield), Rupert Lowe (Great Yarmouth), Nigel Farage (Clacton) and Richard Tice (Boston and Skegness). Congratulations to all four on winning their seats.”

Marianne Overton MBE Leader of the Independent Group on the Local Government Association and its Vice Chairman.

The Independent Network is a national support network for Independents. We fielded 11 candidates, who gained a total of 28,121 votes, including Azhar Chohan, who came second in Slough with 11,019 votes and Jason Zadrozny of Ashfield, third with 6,276 votes, in a high profile, hard fought seat won from Conservatives by Reform UK.